|Acrolinx Server||5.2, 5.3|
|If you have an earlier server version, you can download an archived version of this article.|
You can create new backups or view your existing backups on the Database Backups page. You can also restore a backup from your Acrolinx installation or from another Acrolinx installation.
Additionally, you can also use backups to migrate your analytics and reporting data from one database format to another. For example, you can migrate your reporting data from the default H2 database to an external reporting database or your analytics data from the default Derby databases to external analytics databases . You can host this database on another server such as a Microsoft SQL Server.
To create and restore database backups, navigate toTo view this page, you must have a role that includes the privilege to create and restore backups.
When you start a database backup task or restore a database backup, your analytics and reporting databases are temporarily blocked until the task is complete. When the analytics and reporting databases are blocked, users can still run checks, but no data is written to the databases. To ensure the integrity of the databases, Acrolinx also prevents other Dashboard users from starting a parallel backup or restoring another backup.
If the server is taking too long to create a database backup, you can cancel the task. However, once you’ve started to restore a database backup, you can’t cancel the task.
Creating a Database Backup
You might create a database backup to protect your reporting data from unexpected outages. For example, you can use database backups to avoid losing important data if your database becomes corrupted.
To create a database backup, follow these steps:
Create New Backup
When the backup process completes, the new backup is displayed in the Available Backups table.
The backup file is saved on the server computer at the following location:
If you prefer to store your backup somewhere other than the server computer, click Download in the Actions column.
To cancel the backup task, click the Cancel button next to the progress bar.
Restoring a Database Backup
You might restore a backup of your analytics and reporting databases if your databases become corrupted and you want to roll back to an earlier database state. You might also restore a backup to move analytics and reporting data from one Acrolinx installation to another. Alternatively you might restore a database backup to migrate your data from the default Derby or H2 databases to an enterprise database format. However, we don't recommend that you restore a database backup to the default databases that come installed with Acrolinx. The server performance can be extremely slow when restoring large backup files to a Derby or H2 database.
Important: Only restore a backup within the same Acrolinx database schema version. If you need to restore a previous database schema version, restore the backup in the corresponding Acrolinx Server version and then update your Acrolinx Server. Acrolinx automatically migrates your data when you update.
To restore a database backup, follow these steps:
Locate the backup in the
section, and in the
To restore a backup that is stored on your computer or at a network location, upload the backup file to your server first .
In the security dialog that appears, enter the word
Tip: This type of dialog is an extra precaution to prevent you from overwriting your reporting database unintentionally. When you restore a database backup, all analytics and reporting data is overwritten with the data from the backup.
Uploading a Database Backup to the Server
If you’ve downloaded a database backup from an Acrolinx installation, you can upload the backup file to another Acrolinx installation. After you’ve uploaded the backup, you can restore the database backup to the second installation. You might upload a database backup if you’re changing the computer where your Acrolinx server is hosted. You can use the database backup to move your reporting data to the new installation.
To upload a database backup to the server, follow these steps:
, select the backup file and click
When the backup file is successfully uploaded, a new entry for the backup appears in the Available Backups table. You can click Restore in the Actions column.
If you’ve uploaded a corrupted or invalid backup file, you see the action Delete in the Actions column. A backup file can become corrupted if the server is stopped before the backup was completed. Additionally, you might see this action if you select the wrong file to upload. To remove the file from the list, click Delete .